Swarming Locusts, Farmed Fish, Confusing Consumer Labeling, and Combating Rhino Poaching: A Different Approach to Teaching Chemistry

2YC3

Chemists often claim that chemistry is the central science. Central to what? Why should students or the public believe this broad, encompassing statement if not shown examples how chemistry is influential in deciphering recent current global events, issues, and consumer product labeling. In this free webinar (click to register) I'll discuss how I use such events as a launching pad to teach foundational GChem 1 and OChem 1/2 principles. In addition, formative/summative assessment questions written to challenge students understanding of chemistry principles related to the event, issue, and/or topic discussed will be shared.

Title: Swarming Locusts, Farmed Fish, Confusing Consumer Labeling, and Combating Rhino Poaching: A Different Approach to Teaching Chemistry

Presenter: Scott Donnelly [ChemEd Xchange Two-Year College editor; 2021 Chair 2YC(= Two-Year College Chemistry Consortium)] 

Registration: free, 

Date: Friday, February 26, 2021

Start time: 10:00am Pacific/11:00am Mountain/noon Central/1:00pm Eastern

Length: 60 minutes (maximum; includes Q&A session)

Live videorecording: no (studio recording will be made available later)

Slides available: Yes, to those that attend

Event: More Information